Government stops issuance of development permits in Konza City

The county governments of Machakos, Makueni and Kajiado have suspended the issuance of new development permits in the area falling within the ten-kilometre radius around the Konza Technopolis dubbed “Konza Planning Zone” for a period of 90 days.

In a joint statement, the three counties indicated the decision was reached to enable a newly constituted Inter-County Joint Physical and Land Use Planning Committee to develop an Inter-County Physical and Land Use Development Plan to provide guidelines and standards for regulation of land use practices and general development within the zone.

The statement was signed by respective county secretaries Hon. Hamilton Parseina, County Executive Committee MemberLands, Physical Planning, Housing, Urban Development & MunicipalitiesCounty Government of Kajiado, Hon. Julius Mulwa Kaloi County Executive Committee Member, Lands, Urban Development, Environment and Climate Change County Government of Makueni and Hon. Evelyne Kavuu Mutie, County Executive Committee Member Energy, Lands, Housing and Urban Development, County Government of Machakos.

Speaking in  a meeting bringing together governors from the three counties Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government, Dr. Fred Matiangí indicated that there is need for governments to work together in protecting the ecosystem around Konza Technopolis so as to  deliver value to investors and properties around the Special Planning Zone.

“Konza is now evidence of what happens when Government leaders at all levels work together and focus on things that matter. What matters is delivering this project to the people of Kenya,” the CS said.

A meeting called by Dr. Matiangi attended by the governors; Prof. Kivutha Kibwana, Dr. Alfred Mutua, and Mr. Joseph Ole Lenku as well as Cabinet Secretaries Mr. Joseph Mucheru, Ministry of ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs and  Ms. Farida C. Karoney, Ministry of Lands and Physical Planning resolved to complete the buffer zone plan within the notice period so that resumption of developments on 1st July will be guided by the buffer zone plan.

The plan will provide basic guidelines and standards for regulation of land use practices and general development while controlling activities for the respective counties bordering the Technopolis. It will also guide developers and property owners on acceptable standards.

In addition, the three counties in consultation with the national government will provide a mutually agreed spatial development framework for             symbiotic and sustainable co-existence between the Konza Technopolis and the adjacent areas falling within the jurisdiction of the three counties.

The  Committee consists of the respective County Executive Committee Members responsible for physical and land use planning matters, two other relevant County Executive Committee Members, co-opted representatives from the relevant National Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (including the Konza Technopolis Development Authority) and the Director-General of Physical and Land Use Planning who shall be the ex-officio member and coordinator of the planning activities.

The formulation of the Inter-County Physical and Land Use Development Plan will largely entail the review of the Approved Development Plan No. 03 (Konza Techno City Buffer Zoning Plan Ref. No. 2564/2013/01) and will adopt a highly participatory and consultative process.

The committee was constituted pursuant to the provisions of Section 29 of the Physical and Land Use Planning Act, 2019. The buffer zone physical planning and development control will become part of the work of the National Development Implementation and Communication Cabinet Committee (NDICCC ).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button